New Zealand Lotto

The New Zealand Lotto was launched in July 1987 and is run by the New Zealand Lottery. The inaugural draw took place on the 1st August 1987 with a jackpot of NZ$359,808. Today, the draw is held twice a week, on Wednesday and Saturday evenings, and has a guaranteed first division prize of NZ$1 million in every draw.

New Zealand Lotto Draw Schedule

New Zealand Lotto draws are broadcast live on TV and are held on Saturday nights at 8pm NZST and on Wednesday nights at approximately 8.20pm NZST. The latest results are always available to view online shortly after the draw has taken place, with a full prize breakdown found on the New Zealand Lotto Results page.

The main New Zealand numbers are all drawn from a single drum which contains numbered balls ranging from 1 to 40. Six main numbers are chosen at random first and players will be required to match all of them to win the jackpot. One further number will be drawn from the remaining pool of 34, which is the Bonus Ball.

How to Play New Zealand Lotto

Players purchase a minimum of four lines and pick six numbers from 1 to 40 and must match all of them in order to win New Zealand Lotto’s First Division prize of at least NZ$1 million. A Bonus Ball is drawn after the six main numbers and increases the value of any prizes won if matched with three, four or five main numbers.

Additional Draw

When players play the main New Zealand Lotto game, they also have the option to enter two add-on games for an additional fee - Strike! and Powerball.

Strike!: Players are required to predict what the first four numbers drawn from the Lotto drum will be, and the player wins prizes the more accurate their predictions are.

Powerball: Players have to match a special ball in addition to those in the main Lotto game to have a chance to win prizes stretching into eight figures.