Australia Powerball

Australia Powerball was originally played by picking five numbers from 45 and a Powerball from another choice of 45 but that changed on 1st March 2013 and now ticket holders select six numbers from 1 to 40 and a Powerball from 1 to 20, needing to match every number drawn to win the Division 1 prize.

The weekly draw takes place on a Thursday at 9:30pm AEDT, with ticket sales closing at 8:30pm on the night and resuming shortly after the draw.

There are eight cash prize divisions, with the jackpot starting at AU$3 million. The top prize regularly rolls over to much bigger amounts and often reaches eight figures. There are prizes available for matching anything from two numbers and the Powerball upwards.

The biggest prize in the history of the game came in July 2009, when two ticket holders shared the Division 1 pool of AU$80 million.